Home Morningside Events - Morningside Area Alliance Music Marco A. Jimenez plays Messiaen’s “Les Corps glorieux”
Marco headshot 2 202401171102

Marco A. Jimenez plays Messiaen’s “Les Corps glorieux”


Olivier Messiaen: Les Corps glorieux (1939)

I. Subtilité des Corps Glorieux

II. Les eaux de la Grâce

III. L’ange aux parfums

IV. Combat de Mort et de la Vie

V. Force et agilité des Corps Glorieux

VI. Joie et clarté des Corps Glorieux

VII. Le Mystère de la Sainte-Trinité

Marco A. Jimenez is a composer, organist, pianist, and violinist. He is in his third year of the Columbia/Juilliard double-degree program, where he is a John Jay Scholar, majoring in philosophy. He studies composition under John Corigliano and organ under Paul Jacobs. This past summer, Jimenez attended the composition programs at European American Musical Alliance (EAMA) Summer Music Institute and Mostly Modern Festival (MMF), and while at MMF, he composed music for the premiere of a mini-opera. Jimenez was invited to play organ at the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s MetFest 2023. Jimenez is currently participating in an internship with NOAA’s National Ocean Service, where he is composing music for an educational series on the ocean and the atmosphere; the series will be released and exhibited in March 2024 in various Smithsonian Institutions across the United States. In 2022, Jimenez received the Charles Ives Scholarship for Music from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and has won numerous awards for his compositions. His work has been premiered by the Juilliard School, Hypercube Ensemble, and the Bergamot Quartet, among others, and has been performed in the United States and France. In 2021, he was named a Junior Fellow for the Music at the Anthology (MATA). His composition prizes include First place in the Florida Federation of Music Clubs Junior Composer’s Contest, the John and Margaret Pierson Award for the National Federation of Music Clubs, a two-time honorable mention for the ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Award, and a 2022 composition winner for the National YoungArts Competition. TrevCo Music Publishing has published three of his compositions: Suite No. 1 in E minor for unaccompanied bassoon (2017), A Russian Fantasy (for woodwind quintet) (2017), and A Child’s Memories for oboe and piano (2020).

Or, watch live on YouTube.

Event Contact Information:
Julian Bennett Holmes


Feb 15 2024


6:00 pm - 7:00 pm


Read More

Formats (virtual, in person, hybrid)



Columbia University - St. Paul's Chapel
1160 Amsterdam Ave, New York, NY 10027


Columbia University
QR Code