Loading Events
This event has passed.

We invite you to watch the livestream of the 125th JTS Commencement Exercises and Tekes Hasmakhah (Ordination and Investiture Ceremony).

Tekes Hasmakhah (Ordination and Investiture Ceremony): begins at 10:00 a.m. (EDT)

Commencement Exercises: begin at 3:30 p.m. (EDT)



• Commencement Address by Professor Arnold M. Eisen, Chancellor, JTS

• Presentation of honorary degrees to four distinguished guests in recognition of their service and achievements:

Bruce A. Beutler, MD, recipient of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Ms. Sara J. Bloomfield, director of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Professor David Golinkin, president of the Schechter Institutes

Professor Martha C. Nussbaum, Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics, University of Chicago

• Awarding of diplomas to JTS graduates, and bestowing of tallitot at the ordination and investiture ceremony to those entering the rabbinate and cantorate

• Performances by the H. L. Miller Cantorial School Chorus