Pity These Ashes: TULSA 1921-2021

This is an online event with no live audience. We hope you will join us.

Jessie Montgomery Starburst
Alice Coltrane Prema for Harp and Strings
arranged by Tom Cunningham of Urban Playground Orchestra
Adolphus Hailstork TULSA 1921 (Pity Theses Ashes, Pity This Dust) for Mezzo-Soprano and Chamber Orchestra
*World Premiere – libretto by Herbert Woodward Martin
Trevor Weston The People Could Fly for Violin Solo, Narrator and Strings
(Based upon an African-American folktale by Virginia Hamilton)

Amadi Azikiwe, Music Director and Conductor
Terrance McKnight, Host and Performer
J’Nai Bridges, Mezzo-Soprano
Lady Jess, Violin
Ashley Jackson, Harp
With an orchestra comprising members of The Harlem Chamber Players
Also featuring dancers from Harlem School of the Arts

Please RSVP here. (By submitting your information, you’re agreeing to receive information and communications from NYPR in accordance with its Terms of Use and The Harlem Chamber Players in accordance with its Privacy Policy.)

You may watch the digital program here via The Greene Space.