Inauguration of Sian Leah Beilock, Eighth President of Barnard College

The Barnard community united to celebrate the Inauguration of the eighth president of Barnard College, Sian Leah Beilock, on February 9, 2018, at Riverside Church. The ceremony featured greetings from representatives of the College community and beyond, including Columbia University President Lee Bollinger, University of Chicago President Robert J. Zimmer and Smith College President Kathleen McCartney. President Beilock delivered an inaugural address in which she articulated her vision for Barnard College.

Links to remarks and performances below:

00:10:15 Call to Order: Frances L. Sadler ’72, Trustee, Co-Chair of the Inauguration Committee

00:11:56 Reading: “At the Fishhouses” by Elizabeth Bishop; Saskia Hamilton, Professor of English, Barnard College

00:14:42 Welcome: Jolyne Caruso-FitzGerald ’81, Chair of the Board of Trustees

00:18:15 Thomas Carr, Professor, Department of Psychology, Michigan State University

00:21:44 Deborah Feltz, University Distinguished Professor and Chairperson Emeritus, Department of Kinesiology, Michigan State University

00:26:01 Suparna Rajaram, President, Association for Psychological Science, Professor, Department of Psychology, Stony Brook University

00:30:42 Kathleen McCartney, President, Smith College

00:38:45 Robert J. Zimmer, President, University of Chicago

00:46:08 “How Can I Keep From Singing?” A Quaker Hymn arranged by Gwyneth Walker (b. 1947), Performed by the Barnard-Columbia Chorus, Gail Archer, Conductor

00:50:45 Jyoti Menon ’01, President of the Alumnae Association of Barnard College

00:53:47 Christina Johnson, Associate Director, Purchasing

00:56:13 Angela Beam ’18, President of the Student Government Association

01:01:30 Monica L. Miller, Tow Family Associate Professor, English and Africana Studies

01:04:30 Lee Bollinger, President, Columbia University

01:10:25 Investiture: Jolyne Caruso-FitzGerald ’81, Chair of the Board of Trustees; Cheryl Glicker Milstein ’82, Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees

01:12:48 Inaugural Address: Sian Leah Beilock, President, Barnard College

01:34:22 Singing of the Alma Mater: The women of the Barnard-Columbia Chorus

01:36:04 Closing: Diana T. Vagelos ’55, Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees Co-Chair of the Inauguration Committee