Prestigious Research Grants Awarded to Faculty

///Prestigious Research Grants Awarded to Faculty

athena centerBCRWfellowships & grantsSTEM Since last May, Barnard faculty members were awarded major research grants that support a diverse array of interests, enabling them to continue existing studies and support collaborations with other institutions.

Prof. BalsamProfessor of Psychology and Samuel R. Milbank Chair Peter D. Balsam received supplemental funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for his research project “Timing and Associative Learning.”


Prof. CarnesProfessor of History Mark Carnes received a grant from the Teagle Foundation to provide general support for the Reacting to the Past Consortium, which uses role-playing as a pedagogy to assist student learning.


Prof. HertzProfessor of Biological Sciences Paul Hertz received renewed funding from the Sherman Fairchild Foundation for continued support for the Science Pathways Scholars Program (SP)2, a highly selective, four-year scholars program for underrepresented minority and first-generation students in the sciences.


Prof. GoldmarkAssociate Professor of Professional Practice in Theatre and Director of Sustainability and Environment Sandra Goldmark led efforts to secure grant funds from the Citizens Committee for New York City to support the “Compost Collection on Campus” initiative.


Prof. FoleyProfessor of Classics Helene Peet Foley and the Barnard-Columbia Ancient Drama Group received grants from the Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation and the Onassis Foundation USA for an innovative production of Euripides’ Heracles in ancient Greek.


Prof. McCrinkAssociate Professor of Psychology Koleen McCrink received an NIH award for her work on “Early Development of Spatial-Numerical Associations.”


Prof. MillerAssociate Professor of English and Africana Studies Monica L. Miller was awarded renewed support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship program.


Prof. Mukherjee Helen Goodhart Altschul Professor of Physics & Astronomy Reshmi Mukherjee received two awards from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for the projects “TeV Astrophysics with the VERITAS Gamma Ray Observatory” and “MRI Consortium: Development of a Wide Field-of-View Camera for the Schwarzschild-Couder Gamma Ray Telescope.” The latter is a collaboration among multiple institution, including Columbia, the University of Alabama in Huntsville, and UCLA.


Prof. RemezProfessor of Psychology Robert Remez received an NSF award for “Temporal Dynamics of Phonetic Perceptual Organization.”


Researcher-in-Residence RitchieResearcher-in-Residence at the Barnard Center for Research on Women (BCRW) Andrea J. Ritchie received an anonymous foundation grant in support of her work at BCRW to create the Challenging Criminalization at the Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexuality Research/Think/Action Tank.


Prof. SethiProf. ZarghameeProf. Archibong Professor of Economics Rajiv Sethi and Assistant Professors of Economics Homa Zarghamee and Belinda Archibong received a grant from the William + Flora Hewlett Foundation to support strategic planning activities for CORE USA (Curriculum Open-Access Resources for Economics) to help expand the number of faculty members and students who use the innovative CORE curricular materials.

Prof. WheatonAssistant Professor of Psychology Michael G. Wheaton received two awards: from the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation NARSAD Young Investigator Grant for “Reducing Threat Responding through Active Avoidance in Patients with Pathological Anxiety” and from the International Obsessive Compulsive Disorder Foundation for “Active Avoidance of Threat Cues and Fear Extinction in Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder.”


In addition, the Altman Foundation renewed a grant to Barnard’s Higher Education Opportunity Program and Success Scholars Program; Con Edison

Visit original >