David Greenwald and Claire Shipman Named Co-Chairs of Columbia’s Board of Trustees

Greenwald Shipman

In addition to his responsibilities as vice chair of Columbia’s Board of Trustees, Greenwald also leads the board’s Finance Committee, among other duties. He is a member of the Dean’s Council of Columbia Law School, having graduated from the school in 1983. At Columbia Law School, he was a Harlan Fiske Stone Scholar and involved with the Journal of Transnational Law. As an alum, he has been a guest lecturer.

Greenwald also chairs the Wharton Alumni Executive Board, having received his BS from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in 1980. He is also a member of the boards of the Legal Aid Society, Lenox Hill Neighborhood House, and the Lincoln Center Theater. He serves as deputy chairman of the Financial Markets Law Committee in the United Kingdom. 

Claire Shipman is a journalist, author, and public speaker. She has extensive expertise in women’s leadership and has written four books on the subject: The Confidence Code, The Confidence Code for Girls, Living the Confidence Code, and Womenomics. Her next book, The Power Code, is focused on women and power and comes out in June 2023. Katty Kay of the BBC has been her co-author on all five books.

After graduating from Columbia College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Russian Studies, Shipman joined CNN, where she worked for a decade. She covered the collapse of the Soviet Union during her five years at CNN’s Moscow Bureau and then served as White House Correspondent. In 1994, she received a graduate degree in international affairs from Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs. 

Shipman later moved to NBC News, where she was a White House correspondent. From there, she went on to work at ABC News for 15 years as the senior national correspondent for Good Morning America. In that role, she covered politics, international affairs, and social issues.

Shipman is the recipient of numerous awards, including a Peabody, a DuPont, and an Emmy. At Columbia, she has received the Hamilton Award, the Medal for Excellence, and a John Jay Award. In 2022, she was the guest speaker for SIPA’s special reception for graduates of the classes of 2020 and 2021.

Source link